Start With Test

Uncovering Enneagram Wings and Subtype Nuances

character traits enneagram human behavior personal growth personality test psychology self-discovery subtypes understanding yourself wings

If you're familiar with the Enneagram, you know that it's a powerful tool for self-awareness and personal growth. Each of the nine types has distinct patterns of thinking, feeling, and behaving, and understanding your type can help you identify your strengths and weaknesses, improve your relationships, and navigate life's challenges with greater wisdom and compassion.

 Enneagram Diagram

Enneagram Wings: Finding Your Secondary Type


But did you know that each Enneagram type also has two "wings"? Your wing is the neighbouring type on either side of your core type. For example, if you're a type Nine, your wings are Eight and One. Your wing types can influence the expression of your core type in subtle but significant ways, giving you unique strengths and challenges.


Discover Enneagram Wings 

How to Identify Your Instinctual Subtype


Understanding your wing types can help you deepen your understanding of your Enneagram type and develop greater compassion and empathy for others. Here's a brief overview of each type's wings and how they can impact your personality:


Type One: The Perfectionist

One with a Nine wing (1w9): more laid-back and introverted, prioritizes inner peace and harmony

One with a Two wing (1w2): more social and outgoing, prioritizes helping others and building relationships


Type Two: The Helper

 Two with a One wing (2w1): more task-oriented and driven, prioritizes productivity and efficiency

Two with a Three wing (2w3): more image-conscious and ambitious, prioritizes success and recognition


Type Three: The Achiever

 Three with a Two wing (3w2): more relationship-oriented and people-pleasing, prioritizes helping and connecting with others

Three with a Four wing (3w4): more artistic and creative, prioritizes self-expression and individuality


Type Four: The Individualist

Four with a Three wing (4w3): more success-oriented and driven, prioritizes achievement and recognition

Four with a Five wing (4w5): more analytical and introverted, prioritizes understanding and knowledge


Type Five: The Investigator

Five with a Four wing (5w4): more creative and imaginative, prioritizes self-expression and individuality

Five with a Six wing (5w6): more loyal and security-conscious, prioritizes stability and predictability


Type Six: The Loyalist

 Six with a Five wing (6w5): more independent and self-reliant, prioritizes knowledge and understanding

Six with a Seven wing (6w7): more adventurous and outgoing, prioritizes excitement and novelty


Type Seven: The Enthusiast

Seven with a Six wing (7w6): more security-conscious and anxious, prioritizes stability and predictability

Seven with an Eight wing (7w8): more assertive and confident, prioritizes power and control


Type Eight: The Challenger

Eight with a Seven wing (8w7): more outgoing and adventurous, prioritizes excitement and novelty

Eight with a Nine wing (8w9): more laid-back and easygoing, prioritizes peace and harmony


Type Nine: The Peacemaker

Nine with an Eight wing (9w8): more assertive and confident, prioritizes power and control

Nine with a One wing (9w1): more perfectionistic and detail-oriented, prioritizes order and structure


enneagram wings


Understanding your Enneagram wings can be a powerful tool for personal growth and development. By recognizing your strengths and challenges, you can learn to cultivate greater self-awareness, empathy, and compassion for yourself and others. So take some time to explore your Enneagram wings, and see what insights and wisdom they have to offer!

If you're interested in exploring the Enneagram, consider taking the Enneagram test.